Facebook Twitter TV
Excellence in Education Awards
The Joseph B. Morton Excellence in Education Awards have been presented since 1996 by the Sylacauga City Schools Foundation in partnership with the Sylacauga City School system. The purpose of the awards are to reward and bring recognition to a teacher, a support person, and a volunteer who make a significant difference and contribution in the lives of the students that attend Sylacauga City Schools. All three of these positions are essential to the success of students. Each school nominates an individual in each of these three categories. Letters of nomination are submitted to the Sylacauga City Schools Foundation and from those nominations, the three individuals are selected. Awards are presented at the end-of-the-year Institute meeting.
 Year  Educator  Support  Volunteer
 1996 Glenda Smithwick
Greg Bailey
Renee Riggins
Danny Culp
Margaret Morton
   Doug Brown

Laura Brown
Linda Dickson
Cheryl Dobson
DeAnn Floyd
Patsy Jones 

   Nancy McKay
 1998 NONE    
 1999 Arista Scott Margie Duncan Karen Elston
Susan Payton
 2000 Dan Perkins
Tim Posey
Mildred McKinney Cindy Picklesimer
 2001 Anne Gray Lodis & Sadie McGregor Teresa Pugh
 2002 Libby Renn Barbara Murphree Carol Laney
 2003 Gail Posey Tammy Cook Butch & Teresa Jacobs 
 2004 Kay Nail Teresa Conville Becky Bolton 
 2005 Christie Caine Paula Hurt Ronda Payton 
 2006 Tina Fleaman Martha Zedaker Laura Strickland 
 2007 Bebe Andrews David Bearden Mrs. Paul Weithoner 
 2008 Cheryl Cummings Willie Kidd Tracey Allen
 2009 Patti Richardson Ronnie Holland Tiffany Steers 
 2010 Carol Sprayberry Joel Jones Anna Proctor
 2011   Sammy Andrews  Shirley Leonard  Ed Zedaker    
 2012 Natalie Hubbard Reba Hill Gina Culver
 2013 Pam Roberts Adam Foster Tina Conn
 2014 Tyler Laye Karen Watson Bill Roberts
 2015 NONE    
 2016 Wendy Arnold Tracy Abernathy Danny Johnson
 2017 Ami Brooks April Clifton Barbara Thornton
43 North Broadway Ave | Sylacauga, AL 35150 | PH: 256-245-5256